Seven Women Faculty Members Taking on New Roles in Higher Education

news_bradford09Carol R. Bradford, a professor and department chair of otolaryngology at the University of Michigan’s Medical School, has been given the additional role as executive vice dean for research at the medical school. Dr. Bradford is also the co-director of the Head and Neck Oncology Program of the Comprehensive Cancer Center at the university.

Dr. Bradford joined the faculty at the university in 1992. She holds bachelor’s, master’s, and medical degrees from the University of Michigan.

UABendowedUrsula Isolde Wesselmann was appointed to the William A. Lell M.D. – Paul N. Samuelson M.D. Endowed Professorship in Anesthesiology at the University of Alabama Birmingham.

Dr. Wesselmann received her medical training at Christian-Albrechts University in Kiel, Germany. She interned at Northwestern University and her residency in neurology was at the University of Chicago.

TOH-ChristineChristine Toh was appointed an assistant professor of information technology innovation in the College of Information Science and Technology at the University of Nebraska-Omaha. She is a native of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Toh holds a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering and a master’s degree in industrial and mechanical engineering from Pennsylvania State University. She is expected to complete her doctoral degree in engineering at Penn State in August.

ChristnsenAnne Christensen, a professor of accounting in the College of Business and Entrepreneurship at Montana State University, has been elected president of the board of directors of the American Accounting Association. She will serve as president-elect for one year and then become president of the association in 2017. The association has more than 7,000 members in 75 countries.

Professor Christensen is a graduate of Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. She holds an MBA and a doctorate in accounting from the University of Utah.

cardwellKitty Cardwell was appointed to the faculty in the department of entomology and plant pathology at Oklahoma State University. She will also serve as director of the National Institute for Microbial Forensics and Food and Agricultural Security at the university. Dr. Cardwell served for 15 years as a program leader and grants administrator for the National Institute of Food and Agriculture in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Cardwell is a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Texas A&M University.

Lesly-TemesvariLesly Temesvari, the Alumni Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences at Clemson University in South Carolina, has been given the additional duties as associate dean for graduate studies and research at the university. Professor Temesvari joined the faculty at Clemson University in 1999.

Dr. Temesvari is a graduate of McGill University in Montreal, where she majored in microbiology and immunology. She earned a Ph.D. in biology at the University of Windsor in Ontario.

elyacharJulia Elyachar was named an associate professor of anthropology at Princeton University in New Jersey. Since 2007, she has served on the faculty at the University of California, Irvine. Earlier, she taught at New York University. Her research focuses on the cultural anthropology of Egypt.

Dr. Elyachar hold a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in cultural anthropology from Harvard University.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply