Four Women Scholars Honored With Notable Awards

BARBARA_HINESBarbara B. Hines, professor emerita and the founding chair of the department of communication, culture, and media studies at Howard University in Washington, D.C., received the 2015 Distinguished Lifetime Membership Award from the College Media Association. Dr. Hines taught in higher education for 37 years.

Professor Hines is a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin. She earned a master’s degree at American University in Washington, D.C., and a Ph.D. at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Frances Karnes_0Frances A. Karnes, a retired Distinguished Professor in the department of curriculum, instruction, and special education at the University of Southern Mississippi, was presented with the 2015 Legacy Award from the National Association for Gifted Children.

Professor Karnes is the author or co-author of many books including The Best Competitions for Talented Kids: Win Scholarships, Big Prize Money, and Recognition (Prufrock Press, 2013) and A Girl’s Guide to Achieving in Sports and Athletics (Royal Fireworks Press, 2012).

c_riley.auge_C. Riley Auge, collections curator for the department of anthropology at the University of Montana, was selected to receive the 2016 Kathleen Gilmore Dissertation Award from the Society for Historical Archaeology. She will be honored at the society’s annual conference in Washington on January 6, 2016.

Dr. Auge’s Ph.D. dissertation at the University of Montana was entitled “Silent Sentinels: Archaeology, Magic, and Gendered Control of Domestic Boundaries in New England, 1620-1725.” She is a graduate of the University of Montana and holds a master’s degree in folklore from the University of Greenwich in England.

View More: Ambler, vice president for student affairs at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia, will receive the 2015 Dr. Kent L. Gardner Award from the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors at the group’s annual meeting in Fort Worth, Texas.

Dr. Ambler holds a bachelor’s degree and a Ph.D. from the College of William and Mary.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply