Awards Bestowed on Seven Women Faculty Members

pudwellLara Pudwell, an assistant professor of mathematics and computer science at Valparaiso University in Indiana, has been selected to receive the Henry L. Adler Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Beginning College or University Mathematics Faculty Member from the Mathematical Association of America. She will receive her award at the 2014 MathFest in Portland, Oregon, in August.

Dr. Pudwell is a summa cum laude graduate of Valparaiso University. She earned a Ph.D. in mathematics at Rutgers University in New Jersey.

amatoNancy M. Amato, Unocal Professor and interim chair of the department of computer science and engineering at Texas A&M University, was selected to receive the A. Nico Haberman Award from the Computing Research Association. The award is given to an individual for engaging women and underrepresented minorities in computing research.

Professor Amato is a graduate of Stanford University where she majored in mathematical sciences and economics. She earned a master’s degree from the University of California at Berkeley and a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Illinois.

GerberElizabeth Gerber, the Cordell Breed Junior Professor of Design at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, has been chosen as the recipient of the 2014 Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award from the IEEE Computer Society.

Dr. Gerber is a graduate of Dartmouth College. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in product design and management science and engineering from Stanford University in California.

Ccecelia_graham_secilia Graham, associate professor of physical therapy at the University of Alabama Birmingham, has been selected to receive the Polly Cerasoli Lectureship Award from the education section of the American Physical Therapy Association. She will deliver the Cerasoli Lecture at the association’s annual meeting next February in Indianapolis.

Dr. Graham holds a doctorate in adult education from Texas A&M University, a master of medical science degree in physical therapy from Emory University in Atlanta, and a bachelor’s degree in physical therapy from the University of Texas Medical Branch.

gottfredsonLinda Gottfredson, a professor in the School of Education at the University of Delaware, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society of Intelligence Research. She is the first woman to receive the award.

Dr. Gottfredson is a graduate of the University of California at Berkeley. After working in the Peace Corps in Malaysia, she earned a Ph.D. in sociology at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore.

ElizJonesElizabeth Jones, professor of civil engineering at the University of Nebraska Lincoln, received the Peter J. Bosscher Faculty Adviser Award for Outstanding Leader from Engineers Without Borders-USA. Professor Jones has served as the co-adviser to the university Engineers Without Borders chapter since its founding in 2008.

Dr. Jones is a graduate of Colorado State University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in civil engineering from the University of Texas at Austin.

IgloriaLuisa A. Igloria, a professor of English and director of the master of fine arts degree program in creative writing at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, was named the winner of the May Swenson Poetry Award from the Utah State University Press and the estate of poet May Swenson.

As a result of the award, Professor Igloria’s poetry collection, Ode to the Heart Smaller Than a Pencil Eraser, will be published by the Utah State University Press this summer. Professor Igloria earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in The Philippines and a Ph.D. in English and creative writing at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply