The Accolades Keep on Coming for Laurie Glimcher

Laurie H. Glimcher, the Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean of the Weill Cornell Medical College and provost for medical affairs of Cornell University, was named as the winner of the Dr. Luis Federico Leloir Prize of International Cooperation in Science, Technology, and Innovation from the Argentina Ministry of Science, Technology, and Productive Innovation. She was honored for enriching international scientific cooperation. Dr. Leloir (1906-1987) was the first Argentine to win the Nobel Prize in chemistry.

Earlier this year Dr. Glimcher won the 2012 William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic Immunology from the Cancer Research Institute and the 2012 Ernst W. Bertner Memorial Award from the MD Anderson Cancer Center at the University of Texas.

Dr. Glimcher became dean of Weill Cornell Medical College at the beginning of this year. Previously, she was the Irene Heinz Given Professor of Immunology at the Harvard School of Public Health and professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School.

Dean Glimcher is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. She also is a member and past president of the American Association of Immunologists.

Dr. Glimcher is a magna cum laude graduate of Harvard University and completed her medical training at Harvard Medical School.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply