Five Women Named to New Administrative Positions in Higher Education

Mary Holz-Clause was named vice president for economic development at the University of Connecticut, effective December 2. She has been serving as associate vice president for extension and outreach at Iowa State University.

Dr. Holz-Clause holds bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees from Iowa State University.

Karlene Burrell-McRae is the new director of the Black Cultural Center at Swarthmore College in suburban Philadelphia. She was the director of the Black Cultural Center at the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Burrell-McRae is a graduate of Colby College. She holds two master’s degrees and an educational doctorate from the University of Pennsylvania.

Nancy G. Guerra, a professor of psychology and associate dean for research in the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Delaware, has been appointed director of the university’s Global Research Consortium. The effort will seek to identify collaborative research projects among the university’s seven colleges. She joined the university faculty in August after teaching at the University of California at Riverside.

Professor Guerra holds an educational doctorate from Harvard University.

Libby Shelton was promoted to controller at the University of Memphis. She has been on the staff at the university for 23 years, most recently as director of business operations for the university’s physical plant.

A summa cum laude graduate of the University of Memphis, Shelton is a certified public accountant.

Allayne Barrilleaux was appointed vice president of academic affairs at Nicholls State University in Thibodaux, Louisiana. She has been serving in the post on an interim basis. Previously, she was assistant vice president of academic affairs.

Dr. Barrilleaux holds bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from Louisiana State University. She earned a master’s degree from Nicholls State University.


Filed Under: Appointments


RSSComments (1)

Leave a Reply

  1. claudia cian says:

    I just returned from Des Moines University, Des Moines, Iowa. New president: Dr. Angela L.W.Franklin. First female and first minority. Historic event worth noting. Impressive young lady.

Leave a Reply