Vanderbilt University Appoints Five Women to Endowed Chairs

Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, recently named 13 academics to endowed professorships in the School of Medicine and the College of Arts and Sciences. Five of the 13 appointments went to women scholars.

Ellen Wright Clayton was named to the Craig-Weaver Chair in Pediatrics. She also serves as a professor of law at the university. Dr. Clayton is a graduate of Duke University. She earned a master’s degree at Stanford and a law degree at Yale University. She received her medical training at Harvard University.

Kathryn M. Edwards now holds the Sarah H. Sell and Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair at the university. She is a professor of pediatrics and received her medical training at the University of Iowa.

Lynn Enterline was named to the Nancy Perot Mulford Chair in English. She is a graduate of Vanderbilt University and holds master’s and Ph.D. degrees from Cornell University. She has been on the Vanderbilt faculty since 1998. She is the author of The Rhetoric of the Body from Ovid to Shakespeare and The Tears of Narcissus: Melancholia and Masculinity in Early Modern Writing.

Kathleen L. Gould was appointed to the Louise B. McGavock Chair. She is a professor of cell and developmental biology. Dr. Gould is a graduate of the University of California at Berkeley and holds a Ph.D. from the University of California at San Diego.

Jane G. Landers was named to the Gertrude Conway Vanderbilt Chair in Spanish. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Florida.

Filed Under: FacultyFeatured


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply