Prestigious Awards for Six Women Scholars

Jeanne Zaino, associate professor of political science and director of the honors program at Iona College in New Rochelle, New York, received the Dr. Carol S. Russett Award from the American Council on Education’s National Network of Women.

Dr. Zaino holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees the University of Connecticut. She earned a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. in political science from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Lindsay Chase-Lansdale, professor of human development and social policy at the School of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern University, received the 2011 Distinguished Contributions to Public Policy for Children Award from the Society for Research in Child Development.

Dr. Chase-Lansdale is a graduate of Harvard University. She holds a Ph.D in developmental psychology from the University of Michigan.

Erika Doss, chair of the department of American studies at the University of Notre Dame, received the 2011 Ray and Pat Brown Award from the Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association. She was honored for her book, Memorial Mania: Public Feeling in America.

Professor Doss is a graduate of Ripon College. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota.

Christina Neilson, assistant professor of Renaissance and Baroque art history at Oberlin College, received a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Humanities and a Franklin Research Grant from the American Philosophical Society. In addition, she was awarded a residency fellowship at Villa I Tatti, the Harvard Center for Renaissance Studies in Florence, Italy. She will use the fellowships to complete work on her book Verrocchio’s Factura: Making and Meaning in an Italian Renaissance Workshop.

A graduate of the University of Sydney, Dr. Neilson holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University.

Elaine Hatfield, professor of psychology at the University of Hawaii, was named as the recipient of the 2012 William James Award from the American Psychological Society. The award is given for lifetime achievement in psychological research and is the highest award bestowed by the APS. She is the author of A New Look at Love and Mirror, Mirror: The Importance of Looks in Everyday Life.

Dr. Hatfield is a graduate of the University of Michigan and holds a Ph.D. from Stanford University.

Traci Brimhall, who teaches creative writing and is studying for a doctorate at Western Michigan University, was awarded the 2011 Barnard Women Poets Prize. The award is given by Barnard College in New York City to the best second collection of poems by an American woman poet. Brimhall’s prize-winning collection, entitled Our Lady of Ruins, will be published in 2012 by W.W. Norton. Her earlier collection, Rookery, won the 2009 Crab Orchard Series in Poetry First Book Award.

A graduate of Sarah Lawrence College, Brimhall earned a master’s degree at Florida State University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply