Four Women Elected to the National Academy of Education

The National Academy of Education was founded in 1965. Members are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship in the field of education. Recently, the academy announced the election of 11 new members. Four of the new members are women.

Jeanne Brooks Gunn is the Virginia and Leonard Marx Professor of Child Development and Education at Teachers College at Columbia University. She is co-director of  the National Center for Children and Families and the Columbia University Institute for Child and Family Policy. A graduate of Connecticut College, Dr. Gunn earned her master’s degree at Harvard University and her doctorate at the University of Pennsylvania.

Susan R. Goldman is professor of psychology and professor of education at the University of Illinois at Chicago. She is co-director of the Center for the Study of Learning, Instruction, and Teacher Development. A graduate of Barnard College, Dr. Goldman earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in psychology from the University of Pittsburgh.

Helen F. Ladd is the Edgar Thompson Professor of Public Policy at the Sanford School at Duke University. Dr. Ladd has been on the Duke faculty since 1986. She is president of the Association for Public Policy and Management. Professor Ladd is a graduate of Wellesley College and the London School of Economics. She earned a Ph.D. in economics at Harvard University.

Penelope L. Peterson is Eleanor R. Baldwin Professor of Education and dean of the School of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern University. A graduate of Iowa State University, Dean Peterson holds master’s and doctoral degrees from Stanford University.

Filed Under: FeaturedLeadership


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply