Notable Awards to Women in Higher Education

Jane Kelley Rodeheffer, professor emerita of philosophy at St. Mary’s University of Minnesota, was the recipient of the 2011 Graven Award from the Judge Henry N. and Helen T. Graven Award for the Ministry of the Laity. Professor Rodeheffer was honored for her work at the Dorothy Day Catholic Worker House in downtown Rochester, Minnesota.

Barbara-Jayne Lewthwaite, president of Centenary College in Hackettstown, New Jersey, received the Garden State Woman of the Year Award for education by the magazine Garden State Woman.

Drew Gilpin Faust, president of Harvard University, was selected to give the 2011 Jefferson Lecture in the Humanities by the National Endowment of the Humanities. The lecture will take place at the Kennedy Center in Washington on May 2.

President Faust is a graduate of Bryn Mawr College and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in American civilization from the University of Pennsylvania.

•  Susan Howe is the winner of the 2011 Bollingen Prize in American Poetry from the Yale University Library. The award is given for the best book of poetry published in the past two years or for lifetime achievement in poetry.

Deborah Eisenberg, a professor of creative writing at the University of Virginia, received the 2011 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction from the PEN/Faulkner Foundation. She was honored for her book, The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg.

Barbara E. Goodman, professor of physiology at the University of South Dakota, received the 2011 Arthur C. Guyton Physiology Educator of the Year Award from the American Physiology Society.

Dr. Goodman is a graduate of Duke University and holds a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota.


Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply