Six Women Scholars Who Have Received Notable Awards

Torrey Trust, an assistant professor of learning technology in the College of Education at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, is the recipient of the Technology as an Agent of Change for Teaching and Learning Early Career Scholar Award from the American Educational Research Association. The award recognizes early career professionals who make substantial scholarly contributions to the use of technology as an agent of change in in-service or pre-service teacher education.

Dr. Trust is a graduate of the University of California, San Diego, where she majored in visual arts with an emphasis on film. She holds a master’s degree in educational technology from San Diego State University and a Ph.D. in education from the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Wendy Denmark-Wahnefried, the Webb Endowed Chair of Nutrition Science at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, has won the 2018 Mary P. Huddleson Award from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. She is honored for her article “Pilot Randomized Controlled Trial of a Home Vegetable Gardening Intervention Among Older Cancer Survivors Shows Feasibility, Satisfaction, and Promise in Improving Vegetable and Fruit Consumption, Reassurance of Worth, and the Trajectory of Central Adipos.”

Dr. Denmark-Wahnefried is a graduate of the University of Michigan where she majored in nutritional science and chemistry. She holds a master’s degree in nutrition from Texas Woman’s University and a Ph.D. in nutritional science from Syracuse University in New York.

Nicole Ward, an associate professor of dermatology at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, has received the Research Achievement Award in Psoriasis from the American Skin Association. The award was established to recognize establish scientists in investigative dermatology and cutaneous biology.

Dr. Ward is a graduate of the University of Winnipeg where she majored in biology and psychology. She holds a master’s degree in neuroscience from McMaster University in Hamilton Ontario, and a Ph.D. in anatomy and neurobiology from Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Stacey J.T. Hust, chair of the strategic communication department in the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication at Washington State University, has received the Outstanding Woman in Journalism and Mass Communication Education award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication’s Commission on the Status of Women. The award honors a woman who has represented women well through personal excellence and high standards in journalism and mass communication education. Dr. Hurst is the author of Scripting Adolescent Romance Adolescents Talk About Romantic Relationships and Media’s Sexual Scripts (Peter Lang International Publishers, 2018).

Dr. Hust is a graduate of Eastern Oregon University where she majored in English. She holds a master’s degree in communication from Washington State University and a Ph.D. in mass communication from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Ann Stalter, a professor of nursing at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio, has received the Outstanding Community/Public Health Nursing Education Award from the Association of Community Health Nursing Educators. The award honors an individual who contributes to the development of curriculum and research programs and whose work with those programs results in a change that has enhanced nursing education.

Dr. Stalter holds three degrees from Wright State University: a bachelor’s degree in nursing, a master’s degree in nursing administration, and a master of education degree in technology for health professions. She also holds a Ph.D in public health nursing from Ohio State University.

Victoria “Torrie” Raish, an online learning librarian at Pennsylvania State University Libraries, has received the 2019 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Routledge Distance Learning Librarian Conference Scholarship Award. The award, sponsored by the Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group and administered by the ACRL, recognizes an ACRL member who has contributed to the success of distance learning librarianship or related library service in higher education.

Dr. Raish is a graduate of Mercyhurst University in Erie, Pennsylvania, where she majored in biology. She holds a master’s degree in secondary science teaching from the University of Southern California and a doctorate in learning, design, and technology from Pennsylvania State University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply