Seven Women Scholars Who Have Been Appointed to Positions as Deans

Lesley Lokko has been appointed dean of the School of Architecture at the City College of New York. She has been serving as the editor-in-chief of FOLIO: Journal of Contemporary Architecture. Dr. Lokko is the author of 12 novels and is the editor of the book White Papers, Black Marks: Race, Culture, Architecture (Athlone Press, 1999).

A native of Scotland who was raised in Ghana, Dr. Lokko was a founder of the Graduate School of Architecture at the University of Johannesburg. She holds a doctorate in architecture from the University of London.

Angela Kashuba was appointed dean of the Eshelman School of Pharmacy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She is the John and Deborah McNeill Jr. Distinguished Professor at the school and for the past four years has served as chair of the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics. Dr. Kashuba has been on the university’s faculty since 1997.

Professor Kashuba is a graduate of the University of Toronto. She holds a pharmacy doctorate from the University at Buffalo of the State University of New York System.

Susan Beth Estes was named dean of the College of Arts, Letters, and Sciences at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. She has served as interim dean for the past year. Earlier, Dr. Estes was associate provost of community, careers, and extended education at the university.

Dr. Estes is a graduate of Hendrix College, Conway, Arkansas, where she majored in sociology. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Iowa.

Mariette DiChristina was appointed dean of the College of Communication at Boston University. Since 2009, she has been editor-in-chief of Scientific American. She is the first woman to serve as editor-in-chief of the prestigious publication. DiChristina has been an adjunct professor at New York University

DiChristina holds  a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Boston University.

Robin L. Hughes will be the next dean of the School of Education, Health and Human Behavior at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. She has been serving as a professor of higher education and a professor of urban education in the School of Education of Indiana University in Indianapolis.

A native of Fort Worth, Texas, Dr. Hughes is the co-founder and co-editor of the Journal of the Study of Sports and Athletes in Education.  She is a graduate of the University of North Texas, where she majored in chemistry. Dr. Hughes earned a master’s degree and a doctorate in educational administration from Texas A&M University.

Melissa Sturge-Apple was appointed dean of graduate education at the University of Rochester. She will also hold the title of vice provost. Dr. Sturge-Apple is a professor of psychology at the university.

Professor Sturge-Apple is a graduate of the University of Rochester, where she double majored in psychology and economics. She earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in developmental psychology from the University of Notre Dame in Indiana.

Sue Day-Perroots was named interim dean of the West Virginia University Extension Service. She will serve for one year in this role while a search for a permanent dean is conducted. A year ago, Dr. Day-Perroots retired from her post as associate provost for undergraduate academic affairs at West Virginia University. She joined the university in 1983 and taught English and language arts courses.

Dr. Day-Perroots is a graduate of Fairmont State University in West Virginia, where she majored in education. She holds a master’s degree and an educational doctorate from West Virginia University.


Filed Under: Appointments


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply