Five Women Educators Who Have Been Selected to Receive Notable Honors or Awards

Myria Allen, a professor of communication in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas, received two awards at the 89th Annual Convention of the Southern States Communication Association in Montgomery, Alabama. She won the 2019 Michael M. Osborn Teacher-Scholar Award for her excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service to the university and her discipline. She also won the J. Donald Ragsdale Award for Mentoring for her outstanding achievement in mentoring junior colleagues to foster development within the field.

Dr. Allen holds a Ph.D. from the University of Kentucky.

Julianne L. Holloway, an assistant professor of chemical engineering at Arizona State University, has received the Herb Epstein Award for Technical Programing from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). She is honored for her efforts in organizing a one-say symposium to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the AIChE Women’s Initiative Committee. The committee promoted the entry, development, and participation of women in AIChE and the chemical engineering profession.

Dr. Holloway holds a bachelor’s degree and Ph.D. both in chemical engineering from Drexel University in Philadelphia.

Bronwyn MacFarlane, a professor of gifted education at the University of Arkansas-Little Rock, has received the 2018-2019 Early Leader award from the National Association for Gifted Education. The award is given annually to the individual with the most potential and exceptional early leadership track record based on their professional contributions to the field of gifted education in their early career. Dr. MacFarlane is the author of four books including, Specialized Schools for High Ability Learners: Designing and Implementing Programs in Specialized School Settings (Prufrock Press, 2018).

Dr. MacFarlane holds a bachelor’s degree in secondary education and a master’s degree in curriculum and instruction both from the University of Missouri. She earned a master’s degree in counseling from Stephens College in Columbia, Missouri, and a Ph.D. in educational policy, planning, and leadership from the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Judy Genshaft, president of the University of South Florida, has received a 2019 Living Legend award from the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). In 2010, she became the first woman to chair the NCAA Division I Board of Directors. She is also a past chair of the Big East Conference and American Athletic Conference Councils of Presidents. In 2016, she received the Dr. Claire Van Ummersen Presidential Leadership Award from the organization then-called the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators. She will retire as president of USF this July. 

Dr. Genshaft holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and master’s and doctoral degrees from Kent State University in Ohio.

Jane Dané, associate vice president for enrollment management at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, has received the inaugural Outstanding Enrollment Management Professional Award from the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators. The award recognized individuals who contribute to enrollment programs and initiative on their campuses through research and/or through NASPA or other professional associations.

Dané is a graduate of the University of Delaware. She holds a master’s degree in education and counseling from Salisbury University in Maryland.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply