Fourteen Women Scholars Taking on New Assignments in Academia

Monica Baskin has been named president of Jefferson County Health Partnership, a community health-oriented collaboration of more than 80 organizations around Jefferson County, Alabama. She is a professor in the Division of Preventive Medicine and the associate director of Community Outreach and Engagement at the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Dr. Baskin is a graduate of Emory University in Atlanta where she double majored in psychology and sociology. She holds a master’s degree in community counseling and a Ph.D. in counseling psychology both from Georgia State University.

Joy Mullane has been named faculty director of the Graduate Tax Program at Villanova University in Pennsylvania. She is a professor of law and has been a member of the law school’s faculty since 2006.

Professor Mullane holds a bachelor’s degree in history, a juris doctorate, and a master of laws degree in taxation, all from the University of Florida.

Alisha Kerlin has been named executive director of the Barrick Museum of Art at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. She had been serving as interim executive director and earlier served as assistant curator and collections manager.

Kerlin holds a bachelor of fine arts from the University of Tennessee and a master of fine arts degree from Bard College in New York.

Caryn Lerman has been named director of the University of Southern California Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center and professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at the university’s Keck School of Medicine. She was the John H. Glick Professor for Cancer Research and vice dean for strategic initiatives at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Lerman is a graduate of Pennsylvania State University where she majored in psychology. She holds a master’s degree in psychology and a Ph.D. in clinical psychology both from the University of Southern California.

Julie Reed has been named an associate professor of history in the College of Liberal Arts at Pennsylvania State University. She was an associate professor at the University of Tennessee. She is the author of Serving the Nation: Cherokee Sovereignty and Social Welfare, 1800-1907 (University of Oklahoma Press, 2016).

Dr. Reed holds a bachelor’s degree in English literature from the University of South Florida, a master’s degree in theological studies from Southern Methodist University in Dallas, and a master’s degree and Ph.D. both in American history from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Ann Bainbridge Frymier has been named director of the School of Communication Studies at Ohio University. She was a professor in the department of media, journalism, and film at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.

Dr. Frymier holds a master of public health degree in health education and behavior from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a doctorate in communication and curriculum instruction from West Virginia University.

Lisa Radtke Bliss has been named a Fulbright Distinguished Chair and will teach students enrolled in the Human Rights Clinic and the Patients’ Rights Clinic at Palacky University in Olomouc, Czech Republic next fall. She is a clinical professor and associate dean of experiential education and clinical programs at Georgia State University’s College of Law.

Professor Bliss holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Florida and a law degree from the University of Florida.

Ronit Stahl has been named an assistant professor of history at the University of California, Berkeley. She was a fellow in the department of medical ethics and health policy at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Stahl is a magna cum laude graduate of Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts, where she majored in English. She holds a master’s degree in social sciences in education from Stanford University, and a Ph.D in history from the University of Michigan.

Sandra L. Wong has been named president-elect of the Society of University Surgeons. She is the William N. and Bessie Allyn Professor in Surgery at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College.

Dr. Wong is a graduate of the University of California, Berkeley where she majored in molecular and cell biology. She holds a medical doctorate from Northwestern University and a master’s degree in clinical research design and statistical analysis from the University of Michigan.

Katherine Hutchinson has been named associate dean for graduate programs and research in the College of Nursing at the University of Rhode Island. She has served as a tenured nursing professor at Boston College since 2012.

Dr. Hutchinson is a graduate of Michigan State University. She holds a master’s degree and doctorate from the University of Delaware.

Abby Sisneros-Kidd has been named assistant professor in the Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources at the University of Wyoming. She was a postdoctoral researcher and teaching fellow in the department of environment and society at Utah State University.

Dr. Sisneros-Kidd holds a master’s degree from DePaul University in Chicago and a Ph.D. in environment and society from Utah State University.

Marietta Orlowski has been named interim chair of the department of population and public health sciences at the Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. She was director of health education for Middletown Regional Hospital.

Dr. Orlowski holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Cincinnati, a master’s degree from Morehead State University in Kentucky, and a doctorate in health promotion and education from Ohio State University.

Jennifer L. Ball has been promoted to associate professor of history and social documentation in the humanities and social sciences in the School of Arts & Sciences at Clarkson University in Potsdam, New York. She has been an assistant professor since 2006.

Dr. Ball is an honors graduate of Saint Vincent College in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, where she majored in history. She holds a master’s degree and Ph.D both in history from Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana.

Paula Agudelo has been named associate dean of research and experiment station director in the College of Agriculture, Forestry, and Life Science at Clemson University in South Carolina. She has been a professor of plant pathology in Clemson’s plant and environmental sciences department since 2004.

Dr. Agudelo holds a bachelor’s degree in agronomy from the National University of Colombia, a master’s degree in plant pathology from Caldas University in Manizales, Colombia, and a Ph.D. in plant science from the University of Arkansas.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply