Five Women in Academia Who Have Been Selected to Receive Notable Honors or Awards

Alexandra Ros, an associate professor in the School of Molecular Sciences at Arizona State University, has received the Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies Innovation Award for her paper and presentation, “Electrically Triggered Water-in-Oil Droplets for Serial Femtosecond Crystallography.” The award is given annually to the most innovative research delivered at the annual SciX Conference. Dr. Ros holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the Ruprecht-Karls University in Heidelberg, Germany, and a Ph.D. from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Michele Eodice, associate provost for academic engagement and director of the Writing Center at the University of Oklahoma, has received the Muriel Harris Outstanding Service Award from the International Writing Centers Association. The award is the association’s highest honor. Dr. Eodice was recognized for the breadth and depth of her long-term exceptional service to the association and the profession. She holds a Ph.D. in English.

Rohini Pande, Rafik Hariri professor of International Political Economy at the Harvard Kennedy School, has received the 2018 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award from the American Economics Association. The award is presented annually to an individual who has promoted the status of women in economics through their example, achievements, groundbreaking research, or mentorship. Dr. Pande holds a Ph.D. in economics from the London School of Economics.

Susan Fullerton, assistant professor of chemical and petroleum engineering at the University of Pittsburgh, is a recipient of the 2019 Marion Milligan Mason Award for Women in the Chemical Sciences from the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The award recognizes significant research contributions and a strong commitment to the advancement of one’s academic field. Dr. Fullerton holds a bachelor’s degree and Ph.D. both in chemical engineering from Pennsylvania State University.

Michelle Petri, director of the Hopkins Lupus Center and co-director of the Hopkins Lupus Pregnancy Center at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, has received the Evelyn V. Hess Award from the Lupus Foundation of America. She is honored for her extensive contributions and impact in the study of lupus over the last 30 years. Dr. Petri holds a medical doctorate from Harvard University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply