Eight Women From the Academic World Who Have Received Notable Honors or Awards

Jasmine Gonzalvo has been named a 2018 Strategic Initiative Award recipient by the American Association of Diabetes Educators (AADE). The award recognizes “educators whose work reinforces AADE’s strategic goals in diversity or new models of care to achieve the outcomes inspired by AADE’s mission and vision.” She is a clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice and clinical pharmacy specialist in primary care at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana.

Dr. Gonzalvo holds a doctorate of pharmacy degree from Butler University in Indianapolis.

Susan M. Butler is the 2018 recipient of the Institution of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Max Swerdlow Award for Sustained Service to the Applied Superconductivity Community. She is honored for her sustained service to applied superconductivity through the promotion of the field and for the inclusion of women and other diverse STEM professionals.

Butler is associate director for public affairs at the Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston and has worked for the university since 1982.

Michaela TerAvest has been awarded the Beckman Young Investigator Award by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation. The award provides funds to help young, promising, chemistry and life sciences faculty members, who are early in their career, with their research. She is an assistant professor of biochemistry at Michigan State University. Her research focuses on bacterial respiratory processes and sustainable biotechnology.

Dr. TerAvest holds a bachelors degree in biochemistry and molecular biology from Michigan State University and a master’s degree and Ph.D. in biological and environmental engineering from Cornell University.

Adrienne Correa is the recipient of a 2018 Early-Career Research Fellowship from the Gulf Research Program, a division of the National Academies. She is an assistant professor of biosciences at Rice University in Houston. Dr. Correa studies how marine microbial communities influence the health and function of their ecosystems.

Dr. Correa holds a bachelor’s degree in biology from the University of Michigan, and a master’s degree in conservation biology and a Ph.D. in ecology and evolutionary biology from Colombia University in New York City.

Oksana Maksymchuk is the recipient of a Literature Translation Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. She is an assistant professor in the philosophy department at the University of Arkansas. Her award will support the translation of an anthology of selected poems by Marianna Kiyanovska from Ukraine.

Dr. Maksymchuk holds a Ph.D. from Northwestern University. She is the co-editor of Words for War: New Poems from Ukraine (Academic Studies Press, 2018).

Marjorie Bowman, professor of family medicine and professor of population and public health at the Boonshoft School of Medicine of Wright State University in Ohio, is the recipient of the Distinguished Research Mentor Award from the North American Primary Care Research Group. The award honors superb mentorship of a North American Primary Care Research Group member over the course of his or her career.

Dr. Bowman is a graduate of Pennsylvania State University where she was a pre-med student. She holds a medical doctorate from Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia and a master of public administration degree from the University of Southern California.

Lenora Helm Hammonds, an assistant professor in the department of music at North Carolina Central University in Durham, has been selected as the 2018 Javett Artist-in-Residence for the University of Pretoria in South Africa. She is being honored for her distinguished jazz music career and her contributions as a jazz educator.

Professor Hammonds holds a bachelor’s degree from the Berklee College of Music in Boston and a master’s degree from East Carolina University in Greenville, North Carolina. She is currently pursuing her doctorate at Boston University.

Victoria LaPoe, an assistant professor of journalism at Ohio University, is the recipient of the Commission on the Status of Women 2018 Outstanding Woman in Journalism and Mass Communication Award. She is being honored for her work on gender, race, sexuality, ability, and intersectionality in the journalism field.

Dr. LaPoe holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism, mass communication, and theatre and a master’s degree in journalism and mass communication from the University of Iowa. She earned a Ph.D in media and public affairs from Louisiana State University.


Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply