Ten Women Scholars With Ties to Academia Elected Fellows of the American Chemical Society

The American Chemical Society has announced the 2018 class of ACS Fellows. Twenty-one women were recognized with this prestigious honor that is given to distinguished chemists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in the field. Ten of these women are affiliated with higher education in the United States.

Amanda Bryant-Friedrich is the dean of College of Graduate Studies at the University of Toledo in Ohio. She is also a professor of medicinal chemistry and the director of the Shimadzu Laboratory for Pharmaceutical Research Excellence. Dr. Friedrich earned her bachelor’s degree at North Carolina Central University, her master’s degree at Duke University, and her doctorate of natural sciences from Ruprecht Karls Universitat in Heidelberg, Germany.

Carmen Valdez Gauthier is chair of the chemistry and physics department at Florida Southern College in Lakeland. She earned her bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Pontifical Catholic University of Peru and her Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of New Hampshire.

Lynn G. Hartshorn is an associate professor emerita at the University of St. Thomas in Minnesota. She earned her Ph.D. in chemistry from Exeter University in England. Dr. Hartshorn served on the faculty at the University of St. Thomas from 1982 to 2010.

Teresa Head-Gordon is the Chancellor’s Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry, and Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley. She received her bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio, and her Ph.D. in theoretical chemistry from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Barbara R. Hillery is the dean of Arts and Sciences at the State University of New York at Old Westbury. She holds a bachelor’s degree in biology from the University of Virginia and a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from American University in Washington, D.C.

Malika Jeffries-EL is an associate professor in the chemistry department at Boston University. She earned her bachelor’s from Wellesley College in Massachusetts where she double majored in chemistry and Africana studies. She also holds a Ph.D. in chemistry from George Washington University in Washington, D.C..

Kerry K. Karuestis is the Ray and Mary Ingwersen Professor of Chemistry and the chair of the chemistry department at Harvey Mudd College in Claremont, California. She earned both her bachelor’s degree and Ph.D. from Duke University in Durham, North Carolina.

Judy E. Kim is an associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of California, San Diego. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and her Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley.

Melissa Pasquinelli, is the director of graduate programs in chemistry at North Carolina State University. She earned her bachelor’s degree from Seton Hill University in Pennsylvania where she majored in chemistry. She received her Ph.D. in theoretical chemistry from Carnegie Mellon University.

Doris Zimmerman was a professor of chemistry at Thiel College in Greenville, Pennsylvania. She retired in 2014. She is a member of the Committee on Constitution and Bylaws of the American Chemical Society.

Filed Under: NewsSTEM Fields

RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply