Five Women Scholars Who Have Been Honored With Prestigious Awards

Erika T. Camacho, an associate professor of mathematics at Arizona State University, was named the Outstanding Latino/a Faculty in Higher Education in the research/teaching category by the American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education. She was honored at the group’s 13th annual conference in Irvine, California.

Dr. Camacho joined the faculty at Arizona State in 2007, after teaching at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles. She is a graduate of Wellesley College in Massachusetts, where she double majored in economics and mathematics. She earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in applied mathematics at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York.

Susan A. Murphy, Radcliffe Alumnae Professor at the Radcliffe Institute and professor of statistics at Harvard University, has been selected to receive a Luminary Award at the Precision Medicine 2018 World Conference. Dr. Murphy will be honored for her work using data science to improve mobile health care for patients with chronic diseases.

Dr. Murphy joined the faculty at Harvard in 2017 after teaching at the University of Michigan for nearly 20 years. She is a graduate of Louisiana State University and holds a Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Kathleen Blake Yancey, the Kellogg W. Hunt Professor at Florida State University, has been selected as the winner of the 2018 Exemplar Award from the Conference on College Composition and Communication. She is the author, editor, or co-editor of 14 books including her latest work Assembling Composition (National Council of Teachers of English, 2017).

Dr. Yancey holds a master’s degree from Virginia Tech and a Ph.D. from Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana.

Lorie Harper, an assistant professor in the Division of Maternal/Fetal Medicine at the University of Alabama Birmingham, is the inaugural recipient of the Aetna Health Policy Award from the Society of Maternal-Fetal Medicine. She is being honored for her efforts to use telemedicine in the treatment of rural pregnant women with opioid dependencies.

Dr. Harper earned her medical degree at Washington University in St. Louis. She joined the faculty at the University of Alabama Birmingham in 2012.

Diane Ebert-May, Distinguished Professor of plant biology at Michigan State University, received the 2018 Eugene P. Odum Award for Excellence in Ecology Education from the Ecological Society of America. She joined the faculty at Michigan State in 1998 after teaching at Northern Arizona University for 10 years.

Dr. Ebert-May is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin, where she majored in botany. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in biology from the University of Colorado.


Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply