Five Women Scholars Selected to Receive Prestigious Honors and Awards

Camilla P. Benbow, the Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, has been selected to share the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award from The International Society for Intelligence Research. She is being honored for her work on the Study of Mathematically Precocious Youth, which has been ongoing for a half century. She will be honored at the society’s annual conference in Edinburgh, Scotland, this summer.

Dr. Benbow joined the Vanderbilt faculty in 1998. She holds a bachelor’s degree, two master’s degrees and an educational doctorate, all from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore.

Linda Clement, vice president for student affairs at the University of Maryland, College Park, received the 2018 Scott Goodnight Award for Outstanding Performance as a Dean from NASPA, the national organization of student affairs administrators.

Dr. Clement joined the staff at the university in 1974 and assumed her current post in 2001. A graduate the State University of New York at Oswego, she holds a master’s degree from Michigan State University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Maryland.

Katherine Flowers, an assistant professor of English at Mississippi State University, received the James Berlin Memorial Outstanding Dissertation Award from the Conference on College Composition and Communication. She will be honored for her doctoral thesis entitled “Local Language Policy: Shifting Scales in the English-Only Movement.”

Dr. Flowers earned a master’s degree and her Ph.D. at the University of Illinois. She also holds two bachelor’s degrees from the University of Washington.

Mary M. Case, dean of libraries at the University of Illinois at Chicago has been chosen to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services. She will be honored in June at the American Library Association conference in New Orleans.

Dean Case joined the faculty at the university in 2004. She is a graduate of LeMoyne College in Syracuse, New York. She holds a master’s degree in speech communications from Syracuse University and a master of library science degree from the University of Michigan.

Polina Anikeeva, the Class of 1942 Associate Professor of material science and engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was selected to receive a 2018 Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Biomedical Science by the Vilcek Foundation. The award comes with a $50,000 prize.

A native of the former Soviet Union, Dr. Anikeeva earned a Ph.D. at MIT in 2009. Her research is focused on the development of materials and devices that enable recording and manipulation of signaling processes within the nervous system.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply