Six Women in Higher Education Honored With Prestigious Awards

Jacqueline Levine, who led the study abroad program at the University of Rochester in New York from 1991 to 2016, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from IES Abroad, the nonprofit organization that administers study abroad programs for U.S. college students.

Levine now serves as assistant dean and director of special projects for the University of Rochester. She holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in French from the University of Rochester.

Kathryn Edwards, who holds the Sarah H. Sell and Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair and is a professor of pediatrics at the Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society.

Dr. Edwards earned her medical degree at the University of Iowa and completed her residency at the Northwestern University School of Medicine in Chicago.

Simine Vizire, an associate professor of psychology at the University of California, Davis, received the Leamer-Rosenthal Prize for Open Social Science, in the Leaders in Education category. The prize was awarded by the Berkeley Initiative for Transparency in the Social Sciences.

Dr. Vizire is the co-founder of the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science. She is a graduate of Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota, and holds a Ph.D. in social/personality psychology from the University of Texas at Austin.

Donna Hoylman Peduto, executive director of the West Virginia Public Education Collaborative at West Virginia University, received the David A. Kysilko Distinguished Service Award from the National Association of State Boards of Education.

Peduto holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and a master’s degree in reading education from West Virginia University.

Mary Sue Coleman, president of the Association of American Universities and the former president of the University of Michigan and the University of Iowa, has been named as the recipient of the 2017 Clark Kerr Award. The award, conferred by the Academic Senate at the University of California, Berkeley, honors an individual for their distinguished leadership in higher education.

A graduate of Grinnell College in Iowa, Dr. Coleman earned a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Karen M. Sames, an associate professor of occupational science and occupational therapy at St. Catherine University in St. Paul, Minnesota, was chosen to receive the 2018 Lindy Boggs Award from the American Occupational Therapy Association. Dr. Sames joined the faculty at the university in 1995.

Dr. Sames is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She holds an MBA from the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul and a doctorate in occupational therapy from Chatham University in Pittsburgh.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply