Honors and Awards for Six Women Scholars

Tisha Lewis Ellison, an assistant professor in the department of language and literacy education at the University of Georgia, received the Early Career Achievement Award from the Literacy Research Association. Her research focuses on the digital literacy practices of African American families and adolescents.

Dr. Ellison joined the faculty at the University of Georgia in 2010. She is a graduate of Virginia Union University in Richmond, where she majored in journalism. Dr. Ellison holds master’s degrees from Brooklyn College of the City University of New York and Teachers College at Columbia University. She earned a Ph.D. in education from the University at Albany of the State University of New York System.

Lori Pompa, an instructor of criminal justice at Temple University in Philadelphia, received the Lifetime Achievement Award for Teaching from the American Society of Criminology. Pompa is the founder and director of the Inside-Out Prison Exchange Program at Temple University.

Pompa has been teaching at Temple University since 1992.

Patricia M. Dove, the C.P. Miles Professor of Science in the department of geosciences in the College of Science at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, received the Thomas Jefferson Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Natural Science from the Virginia Museum of Natural History.

Professor Dove holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Virginia Tech. She earned a Ph.D. from Princeton University. Dr. Dove joined the faculty at Virginia Tech in 2000.

Kristina Killgrove, an assistant professor of anthropology at the University of West Florida, received the New Directions Award from the American Anthropological Association. She was honored for “presenting anthropological information across diverse media platforms to the public, while expanding anthropological perspectives in the 21st century.”

Dr. Killgrove is a graduate of the University of Virginia, where she majored in Latin and classical archaeology. She earned a master’s degree in anthropology at East Carolina University and a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Elizabeth McNally, the Elizabeth J. Ward Professor of Genetic Medicine and director of the Center for Genetic Medicine at Northwestern University in Illinois, received the 2016 Basic Research Prize from the American Heart Association. Dr. McNally was honored for her research on genetic mechanisms responsible for inherited human disorders.

Dr. McNally earned a medical degree and a Ph.D. in microbiology and immunology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York.

Naomi Ehrich Leonard, the Edwin S. Wilsey Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Princeton University in New Jersey, was named the winner of the 2017 Hendrik W. Bode Lecture Prize from the Control Systems Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. She will be honored and will lecture at the IEEE Conference on Decision and Control in Melbourne, Australia, in December 2017.

Professor Leonard is a graduate of Princeton University, where she majored in mechanical engineering. She holds a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Maryland.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply