Five Women Scholars Honored With Prestigious Awards

frantzAndrea Frantz, professor of digital media at Buena Vista University in Storm Lake, Iowa, has been selected to receive the Louis E. Inglehart First Amendment Award from the College Media Association at their fall national convention in Atlanta later this month. The award honors professional journalists or faculty advisors to college media organizations who have made long-term contributions to supporting the First Amendment.

Dr. Franz is a graduate of Simpson College in Indianola, Iowa. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Iowa State University.

donahue_paula-2Paula Donahue, and assistant professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, received the Best Research Award in the new investigator category at the 2016 National Lymphedema Network Conference. She was honored for her work involving noninvasive MRI methods to identify internal biomarkers related to lymphedema.

Dr. Donahue is a graduate of Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, where she majored in biological anthropology and anatomy. She holds an MBA from Johns Hopkins University and a doctorate in physical therapy from Northwestern University.

setha-lowSetha M. Low, a professor of anthropology and environmental psychology at the City University of New York, is the recipient of the inaugural Senior Scholar Award from the Society of Urban, National and Translational/Global Anthropology.

Professor Low is a graduate of Pitzer College in Claremont, California, where she majored in psychology and human biology. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of California, Berkeley.

cassie-mugCassie Gerhardt, associate dean of students at the University of North Dakota, has been selected to receive the 2016 Sue Kraft Fussell Distinguished Service Award from the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors. She will be honor at the association’s annual meeting in Boston on December 3.

Dr. Gerhardt join the staff at the University of North Dakota in 2002 as coordinator of Greek life.

kayferrellKay Ferrell, a professor emerita at the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley has been selected to receive the Virgil Zickel Award from the American Printing House for the Blind. The award honors creative and caring individuals whose ideas result in the development of new products designed to improve the quality of life for people who are blind or visually impaired.

Dr. Ferrell is a graduate of George Washington University, where she majored in Russian language and literature. She earned a master’s degree from Teachers College at Columbia University and a Ph.D. in special education from the University of Pittsburgh.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply