Three Women Professors Honored With Prestigious Awards

ELASHWAMYAmina Khalifa El-Ashmawy, a professor of chemistry at Collin College in McKinney, Texas, was named the Outstanding Community College Professor of the Year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

Dr. El-Ashmawy holds an associate’s degree from Kilgore College in Texas, a bachelor’s degree from Texas A&M University, and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of North Texas.

brickhouseAnna Brickhouse, University Professor of English and American studies at the University of Virginia, was named by the Modern Language Association as the recipient of the 2015 James Russell Lowell Prize. The award is given to a linguistic study, a critical edition of an important work or a critical biography. Professor Brickhouse was honored for her book The Unsettlement of America: Translation, Interpretation, and the Story of Don Luis de Velasco, 1560-1945 (Oxford University Press, 2014).

Dr. Brickhouse is a graduate of the University of Virginia. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Columbia University in New York City.

hendrixKatherine Grace Hendrix, a professor in the department of communication at the University of Memphis, received that Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education from the National Communication Association. Dr. Hendrix is the author of The Teaching Assistant’s Guide to the Basic Course (Wadsworth Publishing, 2000).

Dr. Hendrix is a graduate of California State University, Fresno, where she majored in speech communication. She holds a master’s degree in rhetoric from the University of California, Davis and a Ph.D. in speech communication from the University of Washington.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply