Honors and Awards for Seven Women in Academia

linda_rousselLinda Roussel professor in the School of Nursing at the University of Alabama Birmingham received the inaugural Clinical Nurse Leader Educator Vanguard Award from the American Association of Colleges of Nursing and the Commission in Nurse Certification.

Dr. Roussel is a graduate of William Carey University in Hattiesburg, Mississippi. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Southern Mississippi and a Ph.D. in nursing from the University of Alabama Birmingham.

ressorLori Reesor, vice president for student affairs at the University of North Dakota, received the 2015 Fred Turner Award for Outstanding Service from NASPA, an association of student affairs administrators. Before joining the staff at the University of North Dakota in 2011, Dr. Reesor was associate vice provost for student success at the University of Kansas.

Dr. Reesor is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. She holds a master’s degree from Iowa State University and a doctorate in educational policy and leadership from the University of Kansas.

Heid_KathleenM. Kathleen Heid, Distinguished Professor in the College of Education at Pennsylvania State University, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

From 2009 to 2012 Dr. Heid served as editor for the Journal for Research in Mathematics Education. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Maryland-College Park.

leonardKathryn Leonard, associate professor of mathematics at California State University, Channel Islands, received the Service Award from the Association for Women in Mathematics. Dr. Leonard was honored for her support of women in the traditionally male-dominated field.

Dr. Leonard holds a Ph.D. in mathematics from Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island.

Donna_ShalalaDonna E. Shalala, who will step down as president of the University of Miami at the end of the academic year, is having a music program at the university named in her honor. Backed by a $1 million donation, the program, which provides free weekly music instruction to public school students in Miami, will now be called the Donna E. Shalala MusicReach Program.

Dr. Shalala has been president of the University of Miami since 2001. She served as secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services during the Clinton administration. Earlier she was chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Shalala holds a Ph.D. from Syracuse University.

JulieJohnsonJulie A. Johnson, dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Florida, has received the 2015 Distinguished Scientist Award from the Southeastern Universities Research Association. The award comes with a $10,000 cash prize.

Dr. Johnson joined the faculty at the University of Florida in 1998 and was named dean of the College of Pharmacy in 2013. She is a graduate of Ohio State University and holds a pharmacy doctorate from the University of Texas.

mullinElizabeth Mullin, an assistant professor of physical education at Springfield College in Massachusetts, received the 2015 Mabel Lee Award at the annual conference of the Society of Health and Physical Educators in Seattle. The award recognizes outstanding potential in scholarship, teaching, and professional leadership.

Dr. Mullin is a graduate of Mount Holyoke College in South Hadley, Massachusetts. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in sport and exercise psychology from Springfield College.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply