National Institute of Medicine Elects 28 Women Members

logo-institute-of-medicine-1The Institute of Medicine, a division of the National Academies, has announced the selection of 70 new members. Election to the Institute of Medicine is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. With the 70 new members, there are now 1,753 active fellows of the Institute of Medicine along with 120 foreign associates.

An analysis of the list of the 70 new members of the Institute of Medicine by WIAReport finds that 28, or 40 percent, are women. Most have current affiliations with academic institutions.


(L to R) Top row: Janis L. Abkowitz, Katrina Alison Armstrong, Diana W. Bianchi, Mary Bartlett Bunge, Molly Cooke, Janet M. Currie, and Mary E. D’Alton. Second row: Phyllis A. Dennery, Judy E. Garber, Arline T. Geronimus, Karen Glanz, Susan B. Hassmiller, Jody Heymann, and Sally Kornbluth. Third row: Ann Elizabeth Kurth, Nancy E. Lane, Quynh Thu Xuan Le, Beverly Louise Malone, Eve Marder, Jonna Ann Mazet, and Diane E Meier. Bottom row: Michelle M. Mello, Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, Joan M. O’Brien, Helen Piwnica-Worms, Lisa Simpson, Pamela Sklar, and Elizabeth Elder Weiner.

Janis L. Abkowitz is the Clemant A. Finch Professor and head of the division of hematology in the department of medicine, at the University of Washington in Seattle.

Katrina Alison Armstrong is physician in chief at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston and the Jackson Professor of Clinical Medicine at Harvard Medical School.

Diana W. Bianchi is the Natalie V. Zucker Professor of Pediatrics and professor of obstetrics and gynecology at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston.

Mary Bartlett Bunge is the Christine E. Lynn Distinguished Professor of Neuroscience and professor of cell biology, neurological surgery, and neurology at Miller School of Medicine at the University of Miami.

Molly Cooke is a professor of medicine and director of education in the division of Global Health Sciences at the University of California, San Francisco.

Janet M. Currie is the Henry Putnam Professor of Economics and Public Affairs and director of the Center for Health and Wellbeing at Princeton University in New Jersey.

Mary E. D’Alton is the Willard C. Rappleye Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and chair of the department of obstetrics and gynecology at the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York City. She is also the director of OB/GYN services at New York-Presbyterian/Sloan Hospital for Women in New York City.

Phyllis A. Dennery is a professor of pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania. She is also chief of the division of neonatology and the Werner and Gertrude Henle Chair in Pediatrics at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia.

Judy E. Garber is the director of the Center for Cancer Genetics and Prevention at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute and a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School.

Arline T. Geronimus is a professor of health behavior and health education at the University of Michigan School of Public Health in Ann Arbor.

Karen Glanz is the George A. Weiss University Professor and professor of epidemiology and nursing at the Perelman School of Medicine and School of Nursing of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Susan B. Hassmiller is the senior adviser for nursing, and director of Future of Nursing: Campaign for Action of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in Princeton, New Jersey.

Jody Heymann is the dean of the Fielding School of Public Health at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Sally Kornbluth is the James B. Duke Professor of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology, and vice dean for basic science in the School of Medicine at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina.

Ann Elizabeth Kurth is a professor and executive director of the College of Nursing Global Division, and associate dean for research at the Global Institute of Public Health of New York University.

Nancy E. Lane is the director of the Center for Musculoskeletal Health and the Endowed Professor of Medicine and Rheumatology at the University of California, Davis.

Quynh Thu Xuan Le is chair and professor in the department of radiation oncology at Stanford University in California.

Beverly Louise Malone is the chief executive officer of the National League for Nursing in New York City.

Eve Marder is the Victor and Gwendolyn Professor of Neuroscience and head of the division of science at the Volen Center and Biology Department of Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts.

Jonna Ann Mazet is professor of epidemiology and disease ecology, and executive director of the One Health Institute in the School of Veterinary Medicine of the University of California, Davis.

Diane E Meier is the director of the Center to Advance Palliative Care and Gaisman Professor of Medical Ethics at the Ichan School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York City.

Michelle M. Mello is a professor of law and public health in the department of health policy and management at the Harvard School of Public Health.

Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk is the associate vice president for health promotion, university chief wellness officer, dean and professor in the College of Nursing and professor of pediatrics and psychiatry in the College of Medicine at Ohio State University in Columbus.

Joan M. O’Brien is the William F. Norris and George E. de Schweinitz Professor, chair of the department of ophthalmology, and director of the Scheie Eye Institute in the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

Helen Piwnica-Worms is vice provost for science and professor of cancer biology at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.

Lisa Simpson is president and CEO, AcademyHealth in Washington, D.C.

Pamela Sklar is a professor in the departments of psychiatry, neuroscience, and genetics and genomic sciences of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York City.

Elizabeth Elder Weiner is the senior associate dean for informatics, the Centennial Independence Foundation Professor of Nursing, and professor of biomedical informatics at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, Tennessee.

Filed Under: Featured


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply