Four Women Win Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards

dreyfusFunded by the Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation, the Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program supports the research and teaching careers of talented young faculty in the chemical sciences at undergraduate institutions. Professors are selected for their commitment to teaching and the quality of the research that they conduct with undergraduate students. Winners of the award receive $60,000 which they can use to further their research.

This year the foundation announced that seven young chemists will receive the awards. Four of the winners are women.

danielle-h-dube-bowdoinDanielle H. Dube is an assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry at Bowdoin College in Maine. She is a graduate of Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, and holds a Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley. She conducted postdoctoral research at Stanford University.

grannasAmanda M. Grannas is an associate professor of chemistry at Villanova University in suburban Philadelphia. Her research is focused on organic matter in environmental ices. Dr. Grannas is a graduate of Juniata College in Pennsylvania. She holds a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana.

oretelCatherine M. Oertal is an associate professor of chemistry/biochemistry at Oberlin College in Ohio. Her research concerns complex oxides and their role in corrosion. Dr. Oertal is a graduate of Oberlin College and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Cornell University.

kpurvisKathleen L. Purvis-Roberts is an associate professor of chemistry in the W.M. Keck Science Department for the Claremont Colleges in California. She also serves as associate dean of the faculty at Pitzer College. Her research focuses on air pollution. Dr. Purvis-Roberts is a graduate of Westmont College in Santa Barbara, California. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Princeton University.

Filed Under: AwardsSTEM Fields


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply