Two Women Scientists Slated to Win Medals From the American Society of Hematology

ASH-LogoThe American Society of Hematology has announced that Nancy Andrews and Elaine Jaffe will be presented with 2013 Henry M. Stratton Medals. The awards will be presented at the annual meeting of the society this December in New Orleans.

andrewsDr. Andrews, dean of the Duke University School of Medicine and vice chancellor for academic affairs at Duke University, will receive the Stratton Medal for Basic Research. She is being honored for her work in iron metabolism.

Dr. Andrews is the only woman to serve as dean of one of the nation’s 10 highest-ranked medical schools.  She is a graduate of Harvard Medical School and earned a Ph.D. in biology at MIT.

JaffeDr. Jaffe is the director of the hematopathology section of the Laboratory of Pathology at the National Cancer Institute. She will receive the Stratton Medal in Clinical/Translational Research. Her research focuses on the pathophysiology and prognosis of malignant lymphomas.

Dr. Jaffe received her medical degree at the University of Pennsylvania.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply