Honors for Five Women Faculty Members

Cheryl A. Swanier, an associate professor of computer science at Fort Valley State University in Georgia, received the Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award from the National Center for Women and Information Technology.

Dr. Swanier also serves as the faculty adviser to the student chapter of the Association of Computing Machinery and the program coordinator for Students in Technology, Academia, Research, and Service (STARS) program.

Reischman2 (3)Stacy Reischman Fletcher, chair of the department of dance at the University of Southern Mississippi, will receive the 2013 Award in Higher Education from Dance Teacher magazine at the three-day Dance Teacher Summit in New York in August.

Reichsman Fletcher joined the faculty at the University of Southern Mississippi in 2000. She is a graduate of the University of California at Santa Cruz and holds a master of fine arts degree from Ohio State University.

StephensMaryAnn_3Mary Ann Parris Stephens, professor of psychology and dean of graduate studies at Kent State University in Ohio, has been selected to receive the 2013 Developmental Health Award from the American Psychological Association’s Aging and Health Committee.

Dr. Stephens has served as associate editor of the journal Psychology and Aging. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Houston.

Kattlemann-KendraKendra Kattelmann, professor of dietetics at South Dakota State University, has been awarded the 2013 Excellence in Practice-Dietetic Research Award from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, formerly the American Dietetic Association. She is the first person from South Dakota to win the award.

Dr. Kattelmann is a graduate of South Dakota State University. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Arkansas and a Ph.D. in nutrition from the University of Missouri.

Leslie EdgarLeslie Edgar, an associate professor in the College of Agricultural, Food, and Life Sciences at the University of Arkansas won the Teacher Fellow Award from the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture. She also won the Award of Excellence for Research from the Association for Communications Excellence.

Dr. Edgar holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Utah State University. She earned a doctorate in agricultural leadership, education, and communication from Texas A&M University.

Filed Under: AwardsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply