Margaret Leinen to Lead the American Geophysical Union

Margaret Leinen, associate provost for marine and environmental initiatives and the director of the Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute at Florida Atlantic University, was named president-elect of the American Geophysical Union.

The AGU, established in 1919, is an international, nonprofit scientific organization with more than 61,000 members in 146 countries. Dr. Leinen will serve as president-elect for 2013 and 2014 and serve as president for 2015 and 2016.

Dr. Leinen is the former dean of the Graduate School of Oceanography at the University of Rhode Island. She is a graduate of the University of Illinois and holds a master’s degree from Oregon State University and a Ph.D. from the University of Rhode Island.

Filed Under: AppointmentsLeadership


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply