Four Women Scholars Honored

Monique M.B. Breteler of the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases in Bonn, received the 2012 Bengt Winblad Lifetime Achievement Award from the Alzheimer’s Association at its international convention in Vancouver, British Columbia. Until 2011 she was a professor of neuroepidemiology at Erasmus University in Rotterdam. She is also an adjunct professor at the Harvard School of Public Health.

Dr. Breteler received her medical degree from the University of Nijmegen and her Ph.D. degree in epidemiology from Erasmus University.

Donna Riley, associate professor of engineering at Smith College in Northampton, Massachusetts, received the Sterling Olmsted Award from the American Society of Engineering Education. She was also selected to be the deputy editor of the Journal of Engineering Education.

Dr. Riley is a chemical engineering graduate of Princeton University. She hold a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in engineering and public policy from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh.

Luella Klein, the Charles Howard Candler Professor at the Emory University School of Medicine, had the Lifetime Achievement Award of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists named in her honor. Professor Klein was the inaugural winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award and was the first woman president of the American Society of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.

Dr. Klein is a graduate of the University of Iowa College of Medicine.

Keela A. Herr, professor and associate dean for faculty at the University of Iowa College of Nursing, was selected to receive the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Gerontological Nursing Association. Professor Herr also serves as the co-director of the John A. Hartford Center of Geriatric Nursing at the university.

Dr. Herr is a graduate of Northeast Missouri State University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply