Five Women Scholars Win Notable Awards

Vivian S. Loveless, associate professor at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, received the 2012 William H. Briner Distinguished Achievement Award in Nuclear Pharmacy Practice from the Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management of the American Pharmacists Association. Dr. Loveless also serves as a clinical assistant professor in the department or radiology at the university’s College of Medicine and is a member of the faculty at the College of Graduate Health Sciences.

Dr. Loveless earned her doctorate in pharmacy at the University of Tennessee.

Leslie Wooten-Blanks, assistant professor of biology at Claflin University in Orangeburg, South Carolina, received the Minority Serving Institution Faculty Scholar Award from the American Association for Cancer Research. Her research is focused on chemotherapy for breast and prostate cancer patients.

Wooten-Blanks holds a Ph.D. in biology from the Medical University of South Carolina.

Wanda Spurlock, a professor of nursing at Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, was inducted into the Louisiana State Nurses Association Hall of Fame. A registered nurse for more than 34 years, she specializes in mental health and gerontological nursing.

A graduate of Southeastern Louisiana State University, Dr. Spurlock earned a master’s degree and a doctorate in nursing science from Louisiana State University.

Karen Edwards, an associate professor in the department of behavioral health and nutrition at the University of Delaware, was named Outstanding Health Professional by the eastern district of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Health, Recreation, and Dance.

Dr. Edwards is holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Indiana University. She earned a doctoral degree in education at Temple University in Philadelphia.

Sue Haka, professor of accounting and senior associate dean in the Broad College of Business at Michigan State University, has been chosen to receive the 2012 Outstanding Educator Award from the American Accounting Association. She will be honored at the association’s annual meeting in Washington in August.

Professor Haka joined the faculty at Michigan State in 1982. For six years, she was co-editor of The International Journal of Accounting. She holds a doctorate from the University of Kansas.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply