Four Women Appointed to Endowed Chairs at Bates College

Bates College, the highly rated liberal arts institution in Lewiston, Maine, announced the appointment of six faculty members to endowed chairs. Four of the appointees are women.

Jane T. Costlow was named the Clark A. Griffith Professor of Environmental Studies. Professsor Costlow is a graduate of Duke University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. form Yale University.

Rebecca M. Herzig was appointed Christian A. Johnson Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies. She has been on the Bates faculty since 1998. Professor Herzig is a graduate of the University of California at Santa Barbara and holds a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Lynne Y. Lewis is the Elmer W. Campbell Professor of Economics. She earned a bachelor’s degree and a Ph.D. at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Erica Rand was named Whitehouse Professor. This named professorship at Bates can go to a scholar in any discipline. Professor Rand teaches in the department of art and visual culture and in the women and gender studies program.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty

RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply