Two Women Honored by the American Astronomical Society

The American Astronomical Society recently honored two women scholars.

C. Megan Urry, chair of the physics department at Yale University received the George Van Biesbroeck Prize. She was honored “for her tireless efforts to enhance the participation of women in astronomy and other scientific disciplines, through the organization of meetings, written works, lectures, and effective mentoring, done outside and in addition to her work as a scientist.” The citation for the award reads in part, “Through the years [Urry] has helped transform our field from one with a rather restrictive view of who belongs in the profession to one that is now held as an example for other disciplines on how to diversify the field. She did all this while at the same time achieving a distinguished career in astrophysics herself.”

Heather A. Knutson received the Annie J. Cannon Award in Astronomy. The award is given for outstanding research and promise for future research to a woman astronomer who has received her Ph.D. within the past five years. Dr. Knutson’s research focuses on physical properties of planets outside of our solar system.

Dr. Knutson is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in astronomy from Harvard University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply