A Quartet of Award Winners

Beatrice Mtetwa, a human rights attorney who has spent the past 20 years fighting for press freedom in Zimbabwe, received the Inamori Ethics Prize from the Inamori International Center for Ethics and Excellence at Case Western Reserve University. Established in 2008, the prize honors leaders who “have used their influence and actions to greatly improve the condition of humankind.”

A native of Swaziland where she was the first member of her family to earn a college degree, Mtetwa moved to Zimbabwe in the early 1980s.

Marybeth Allen, an associate graduate faculty member in the department of communication sciences and disorders at the University of Maine, was named the Speech-Language Pathologist of the Year by the National Stuttering Association.

A graduate of Allegheny College, Professor Allen holds master’s degrees from Boston University and the University of Maine.

Margaret Pipkin Garner, assistant dean for heath education and outreach at the College of Community Health Services of the University of Alabama, was named as the 2011 recipient of the Marjorie Hulsizer Copher Award, the highest honor bestowed by the American Dietetic Association.

Garner is a graduate of Georgia Southern College.

Staci Bilbo, an assistant professor of psychology and neuroscience at Duke University, was named as the recipient of the Frank Beach Award in Behavioral Neuroendocrinology from the Society of Neuroscience.

Dr. Bilbo is a graduate of the University of Texas. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University.


Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply