Five Women Win Prestigious Honors

Katherine Lambert-Pennington, an assistant professor of anthropology at the University of Memphis, was selected as the winner of the 2011 Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty. The award, presented by the New England Resource Center for Higher Education, will be given to Dr. Lambert-Pennington in October at the Conference of the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities. She is being honored for her work on revitalization projects in Memphis.

Dr. Lambert-Pennington is a graduate of Miami University of Ohio. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Tennessee and a Ph.D. in anthropology from Duke University.

Lois W. Banner, professor of history and gender studies at the University of Southern California, is a finalist for the 2011 Book Awards presented by the Southern California Independent Booksellers Association. She was honored for her work, MM-Personal: From the Private Archive of Marilyn Monroe.

Professor Banner is a graduate of the University of California at Los Angeles. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in history from Columbia University.

Tanya Schneider, as assistant professor of chemistry at Connecticut College in New London, received the Cottrell College Science Award presented by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement. Schneider was honored for her research on the rise in antibiotic resistance.

Dr. Schneider joined the Connecticut College faculty in 2010 and previously taught at Smith College. She earned a Ph.D. at Yale University.

Janet Poppendieck, professor of sociology at Hunter College in New York City, received the Leadership Award from the James Beard Foundation. The award is given to individuals who work to create “a healthier, safer, and more sustainable food world.” Professor Poppendieck was honored for her books, Sweet Charity? Emergency Food and the End of Entitlement and Free for All: Fixing School Food in America.

Dr. Poppendieck is a graduate of Duke University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Brandeis University.

Bea Awoniyi, assistant dean of students and director of the Student Disability Resource Center at Florida State University, received the Ronald E. Blosser Dedicated Service Award, the highest honored bestowed by the Association of Higher Education and Disability.

Here is a video of Dr. Awoniyi discussing her work.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply