Four Women Named to Dean Positions

Stephanie M. Bryant was named dean of the College of Business Administration at Missouri State University in Springfield. She will begin her new duties on August 8. Dr. Bryant was a distinguished professor of accountancy and director of the School of Accountancy at the University of South Florida in Tampa.

A CPA, Bryant holds bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from Louisiana State University.

On July 1, Amy Jessen-Marshall will become dean of the faculty and vice president for academic affairs at Sweet Briar College in Virginia. Currently, she is interim provost and vice president for academic affairs at Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio. She has been a member of the biology and earth science faculty at Otterbein since 2000.

Dr. Jessen-Marshall is a graduate of Gustavus Adolphus College in Minnesota. She earned a Ph.D. in molecular, cellular, developmental biology and genetics at the University of Minnesota.

Laura Martin is the new dean of admission and financial aid at Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia. Since 2007 she has served as associate vice president for enrollment and director of admissions at Hendrix College in Conway, Arkansas. She was also been an admissions official at Eckerd College, Kalamazoo College, Albion College, and Spring Hill College.

Martin holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in public administration from Western Michigan University.

Lizabeth Cohen, Howard Mumford Jones Professor of American Studies at Harvard University, will serve as interim dean of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, beginning in July. She is the author of the award-winning book, Making a New Deal: Industrial Workers in Chicago, 1919-1939 and A Consumer’s Republic: The Politics of Mass Consumption in Postwar America.

Dr. Cohen is a graduate of Princeton University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in American history from the University of California at Berkeley.

Filed Under: AppointmentsLeadership


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply